Fruit gone bad done good, by sharon

Butter

I haven’t made these in a few years, and I suddenly have no clue why. We’ve started buying bananas again and so, of course, we have overly ripe bananas. I think my girlfriend might have let 3 of them go bad on purpose just so I would make these.

Banana Muffins

Ingredients:
1/3 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
3 bananas, mashed
1 egg
dash of vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
dash of cinnamon
1 1/2 cups flour
chopped pecans*

For some reason, a lot of recipes I found for this didn’t use brown sugar or cinnamon. That just doesn’t make sense, right? Why wouldn’t you use those? Weird. These muffins end up having a rich, deep flavor and are very moist and fragrant.

*I have no clue what the amount of pecans is. I grab a handful of pecan halves, chop them, and add them to the batter. If it seems like enough, I stop; if it doesn’t, I add more. And then I chop another handful to sprinkle on top. But these are good with or without pecans, and would be just as good with walnuts.

Method:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease or line a muffin pan. Using a wooden spoon, mix together the sugars, melted butter, egg, and vanilla. Add the baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Stir in the flour and pecans, making sure to not overmix. The batter will be lumpy.

Fill the muffin cups 2/3–3/4 full and sprinkle some more chopped pecans on top. Bake for approximately 20-25 minutes, or until the tops of the muffins are browned and spring back when lightly touched.

Print this recipe!

Pan

4 Responses to Fruit gone bad done good, by sharon

  1. Connie says:

    speaking of ripening fruit, you’ve inspired me & I’m becoming queen of fruit salads. Used nectarine, red grapes, apple, bananas & apple juice @ papa’s last night to use up groceries from time share kitchen. Found that halving grapes creates lots of juice & only added apple juice cos not enuf nectarines.

  2. lizzie says:

    yeah, we have half a dozen too ripe bananas in the fridge and I was thinking about making banana bread tomorrow afternoon. now i might make these instead!

  3. Lisa says:

    Ok, so I’m thinking these would be good with some dark chocolate added…maybe just some chopped in chunks. I’m gonna have to try it and let you know…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

