My Favorite Cookies, by sharon

These really are my favorite cookies. This is the recipe I use, but I tend to mess around with it every time. For example, I never just put in a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I grab the cinnamon container and dump in a lot, maybe a couple teaspoons or more. Because I like cinnamon and chocolate together and I think cinnamon is great with oatmeal. A lot of people have remarked that they love these cookies and I really do think it’s the extra cinnamon. Also, most cookie recipes tell you to have a separate bowl, and in that bowl you have the dry ingredients which you then add to the wet stuff. Well, let me tell you, that’s another bowl for me to clean and I don’t feel like it. I never do the extra bowl thing and my cookies always turn out very nicely, thank you. So, let’s make some cookies!
Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies
Ingredients:
1 1/2 sticks of butter, softened
1/3 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1 1/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (or more!!)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup oats
11.5 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips

Method:
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a mixing bowl, combine the butter, sugars, vanilla, and egg. For whatever reason, I really prefer using a wooden spoon to do this. Metal utensils are supposed to have some wonky reactive thing and wooden spoons are really easy to grip. Mix thoroughly until you have a nice yellow, grainy goop. Make sure you break down the brown sugar clumps. You might be like me, have old brown sugar and it’s become a giant cube. It will submit if you work hard enough.

At this point, I add the salt, cinnamon, baking powder, and baking soda. Damn the rules, I refuse to clean that extra bowl. Again, I add way more cinnamon than necessary–enough to be very visible throughout the batter. Next, add the flour. It really is easier to add it in stages and then mix it up, but I rarely follow that rule. I’m also a very impatient person.

Next, add the oats. It really doesn’t matter if you use regular or quick-cooking oats, but I think that regular makes for a crisper cookie. I’m all for the crisp cookies. Which is why sometimes I add more than a cup of oats. Then add the chocolate chips and mix, mix, mix. Make sure to flop the batter over a few times with the spoon and catch the loose chocolate chips that have fallen to the bottom of the bowl so you can incorporate them into the batter. Or eat them. Whatever.

Be bad and pinch off some cookie dough to eat it. You know you want to. Do you honestly think that today is the day you’re going to die from salmonella? I’m here to tell you that it isn’t. I heard somewhere that if you wash the outside of the egg, you’re more than fine because it lives on the outside of the shell. I could be wrong, so don’t go quotin’ me on that one. Also, if your eggs have been refrigerated properly, you really have nothing to worry about. So eat that cookie dough!

If after this you have any dough left, grab a cookie sheet. I have a teflon one that has been loved half to death. Don’t grease the cookie sheet! There’s enough butter in these things to take care of any sticking. I like to make the cookies smaller, a few bites each. I use a round tablespoon to get nice sized little scoops of dough. Place on cookie sheet. Another good thing about extra oats–the cookie is not as wet and it doesn’t spread out as much when cooking. Also, using the rounded spoon gets a bit of height on the dough ball, another good way to stop the evil cookie spread. I can fit about 20 of these on a regular-sized cookie sheet. Observe:

Cookie dough

Cook at 375 degrees for 10-14 minutes. I usually cook them for the entire 14 minutes because I like them browned and crisp. Do whatever you want, they’re your cookies. Once you’ve removed the pan from the oven, place on a cooling rack and wait a minute. See how the cookies are fairly small and have not spread everywhere?

Cooked cookies

Then remove the cookies from the cookie sheet and place them on a separate cooling rack. I bought some handy dandy stackable cooling racks and my god do I love them! Letting the cookies cool from above and below really does make a difference.

Cooling Rack

Once the cookies are cool, I like to place them in tins lined with wax paper. I have a serious addiction to those giant tins of super-thin ginger snaps they sell at World Market and I like to keep a couple of those tins around. They fit a batch of cookies perfectly, have a lid, and are nice looking enough to take to a party.

Cookie tin

So that’s it! My favorite cookies. I just made a batch (I couldn’t sleep) and I think Courtney will be very surprised when she wakes up tomorrow. I’m considering trying out my new-found crepe mastery tomorrow by making cream cheese and strawberry stuffed crepes with a raspberry sauce. Wish me luck!

Print this recipe!

Leave a Reply

