This Chicken is Amazing, by sharon

I found this recipe here when I was looking for new dinner recipes. I feel like I’ve been running out of ideas lately. I asked Courtney the other night, “Who cooks dinner 5 nights a week? What do they make? How do people even do that?” The concept eludes me.

I changed a couple of things about the recipe and made it tonight. This chicken rocks! It is awesome! When Courtney tasted it, her eyes rolled back in her head. You know you want to make it, if only to see someone have that kind of reaction. My version is below.

Chicken Breasts with Spicy Honey-Orange Glaze

Ingredients
6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/4 cup salt
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup honey
2 tablespoons frozen orange juice concentrate
the zest of one orange
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 teaspoon vegetable oil

Method
Because chicken breasts tend to be dry, I prefer brining them. This allows some seasoning to get inside the chicken and helps keep it moist. To brine, combine 2 cups cold water with the salt and brown sugar in a large bowl and mix until the salt and sugar dissolve (or mostly dissolve, whatever). Place the chicken in the liquid, cover with plastic wrap, and store in the refrigerator for 1-2 hours.

In a small bowl, combine the honey, orange juice concentrate, orange zest, garlic, salt, and red pepper flakes. Mix well with a fork and set aside. Remove the chicken from the fridge and pour off the brining liquid. Rinse each chicken breast well, pat dry, and set aside. In a large skillet, melt the butter and the vegetable oil over medium-high heat. Add the chicken breasts and cook for 4-5 minutes on each side. Pour in the orange mixture. After about 2 minutes, it will begin to thicken. Turn the chicken to coat with the sauce. If you’re not sure about the chicken being cooked through, cut the thickest breast in the middle and check. It’s probably done, but a little time over medium heat in the sauce will do the trick if it’s not. Serve the chicken with some extra sauce spooned over it.

And that’s it! I only had elephant garlic in the house and used an entire clove of that since it’s milder than regular garlic. The sauce came out kind of chunky and the garlic became candied in the sauce as it thickened. Which, of course, was wonderful. I plan on using the leftover chicken to top a salad tomorrow, and I’m sure the orange sauce will make a great dressing. I also added more red pepper and orange zest than the original recipe called for because, as usual, I get obstinate when I’m given instructions and it seemed like a good idea to me.

I served this with some steamed broccoli and lemon rice.

Printer-friendly version!

Leave a Reply

