A dessert I made up in December, by sharon

One night, as I was sitting around bored and with a sweet tooth, I took a look around my kitchen to see what I could make. My parents had recently visited for Christmas and left me with a box of pears and homemade spiced pecans. I looked on my kitchen table and saw a tin of those completely awesome, super-thin ginger snaps from World Market.I found some butter. And some lemons and brown sugar. And thus was born . . .

Sharon’s Ginger Pear Crisp

Ingredients
Some ginger snaps or graham crackers
spiced pecans, finely chopped
melted butter, about one stick
juice of one lemon
fresh pears or green apples, sliced

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place ginger snaps or graham crackers into a large Ziplock bag and seal tightly. With a heavy object, smash the hell out of those cookies/crackers. Make a bag full of crumbs, at least 2 cups worth. I used the bottom of my glass measuring cup. In a bowl, mix the melted butter, crumbs, pecans, and some brown sugar. I don’t know how much, 2 tablespoons? It depends on how sweet you want this to be.

Press half of the crumb mixture into a round cake pan. Over the crumb mixture, begin layering your fruit slices. It really doesn’t matter if you peel them or not. Squeeze the lemon juice over the fruit, and then press the rest of the crumb mixture over the top. Bake at 350 degrees for . . . 30 minutes? I don’t know. Until you think it’s done.

Here’s a picture of the final product, with a slice missing:

Pear Crisp

We ended up eating it with vanilla bean ice cream and it was quite tasty!

Print this recipe!

Leave a Reply

