Grandma’s Brown Rice, by sharon

First, I know that the name might cause you to think that this is made with brown rice. It isn’t. That’s far too healthy of an endeavor to one of my relatives to participate in. I don’t like brown rice. If someone has a recipe that causes brown rice to be palatable, please send it my way and I will work on changing my opinion. This rice just turns brown, which is why Grandma named it thusly.

I love this rice more than anything. My father said that when his mother made this my uncle would finish off the pan. And that’s saying a lot. This rice is GOOD. It gets this brilliant crusty bit on the top and I can quite literally eat a bowl of it while sitting on the couch. Technically, this recipe serves 8. Assuming you have 8 people and they only take one serving. That never happens. Ever. And without further adieu, here it is.

Grandma’s Brown Rice

Ingredients:
1 stick of butter
1 ¼ cups of uncooked rice
2 10.5-oz. cans of beef consommé
1 can of water
1 onion, diced
1 4-oz. can sliced mushrooms, plus liquid

Method:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Melt butter in sauté pan; add rice and brown over medium heat, stirring well, until golden. Add consommé, water, and onion, and bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat slightly and simmer for 5 minutes. Add mushrooms and their liquid, and transfer mixture to a casserole dish. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately one hour.

Print this recipe!

Leave a Reply

