When is a salad not a salad, by sharon

When it’s this dish. Yes it is called Cherries Supreme Salad, but it’s a dessert. A pink, fluffy thing of madness that my mother made every holiday. I still love it. I neglected to make it this past Thanksgiving and my day was definitely off-kilter. It’s not as dessert-y as cake or some other things, but it is sweet and almost everyone loves it. My favorite part was when the pineapple got drained because it was always drained into a glass so I could drink it. Why not just buy the child some pineapple juice you say? Well . . . I don’t know. Maybe it was a weird luxury. Maybe that was the year we frequently ate tuna and mushroom soup over rice (a notoriously inexpensive meal).   Maybe my parents knew that I would never finish the juice if they actually went out and bought it. The point is, I still drain the juice into a glass and drink it with gusto and a vague feeling of getting away with something.

Cherries Supreme Salad

Ingredients
1 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk
1 4.5-ounce container Cool Whip
1 21-ounce can cherry pie filling
1 20-ounce can crushed pineapple, well drained
1 cup chopped pecans

Method
Combine all ingredients and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

Some notes on this: I am not kidding when I say that the pineapple must be well drained. You don’t want a soggy dessert/salad.

The longer it sits, the better it tastes. Oh, and trust me when I tell you that you are going to want a good rubber spatula for getting the condensed milk out of the can. And the cherry filling. If you want to be bad like I am, get some condensed milk on your finger. Then get some of the cherry goo on top of that. Insert finger into mouth and make yummy noises. Make rude gestures and get defensive when someone walks through the kitchen and gives you a funny look.

Leave a Reply

