Something my girlfriend cooked (!!), by sharon

I know! I was shocked as well. Not that she can’t cook, she just doesn’t much because 1) I’m home way more than she is and 2) I have control issues in the kitchen. Oh, and 3) I’m paranoid about what she’s doing to my kitchenware. Is my wok in the dishwasher? Good knife in a drawer? I plucked my favorite wooden roux spoon out of a sink filled with water last night and gave her the look. It’s a look that says “Please for the love of god no matter how many times I seem to tell you stop allowing my wooden things (spoons and cutting boards) to sit in water.” This post is quickly getting off topic. The point is–she cooked dinner for me last night. And it was great.

Baked Salmon with Pesto

Ingredients:
2 thick salmon fillets
prepared basil pesto
olive oil
Roma tomatoes (optional)
salt and pepper

Method:
Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Arrange two sheets of aluminum foil, one over the other. Drizzle approximately 1 tablespoon of olive oil in the middle. Arrange salmon fillets over the oil. Cover each fillet with 1-2 tablespoons of pesto. If you want, cut some Roma tomatoes in half lengthwise and place on the salmon cut-side up. Drizzle the tomatoes with a little more olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bring the foil over the sides of the fish and seal the edges tightly, making an envelope. Bake at 450 degrees for approximately 15 minutes. If you want the tomatoes to get a little more roasted, open the envelope after 15 minutes and put under the broiler for a few minutes. If your envelope is small enough, or if you only want to cook one piece of salmon, this can be done in the toaster oven with great results.

This was so good. Courtney made some wild rice to go with it. A vegetable would have been nice, but I honestly didn’t care. It was great and we watched Army of Darkness while we ate dinner. Which makes it a perfect evening, no?

Print this recipe!

Leave a Reply

