Tuna Roll-Ups, by sharon

Now, look. I just don’t do fancy recipes. Sure, the crepes looked impressive but really? I need recipes that are quick and easy and cheap. If they happen to look cool, well then goody on me. Some recipes are just kind of white trash and I don’t care. If I want to mix condensed mushroom soup and tuna and serve it over rice, then I will. I ate that a lot growing up and it still tastes pretty good. So hush. This recipe is just as simple and can either be used for lunch or dinner. They’re also pretty good left over and reheated the next day, so go ahead and make extra. I might make these soon and post some pictures, but don’t count on it.

Tuna Roll-ups

Ingredients:
1 can refrigerated crescent rolls
1 can of tuna, packed in water, drained
1 egg
grated cheddar cheese
chopped celery (optional)
diced apple (optional)

Method:
Preheat the oven according to the directions on the crescent roll package. In a small bowl, mix the tuna, egg, cheese, and celery. Unwrap the crescent rolls. In the center of each long triangle, place a spoonful of tuna mixture. Roll the crescent roll from the long edge to the point, and place on a cookie sheet.  Bake per the instructions on the package of crescent rolls.

My family ate these ALL THE TIME when I was growing up. I happen to have an unnatural hatred of raw celery, so Dad always made a few just for me without celery. If I accidentally grabbed one with celery I made the biggest absolute fuss over getting a crunchy bit in my mouth. It was very dramatic. That being said, I’ve always wanted to try this with some diced green apple in it. I’m a big fan of green apples and cheddar (a snack I constantly make for myself) and so I think it would be great. But C doesn’t WANT green apple in her tuna roll-ups so if I do it, I’ll have to make some separate for her. It’s the circle of life, I tell ya.

Print this recipe!

Leave a Reply

