My new breakfast, by sharon

For as long as I can remember, I’ve had morning sickness.

No, I’m not pregnant. I am just so not a morning person that my body doesn’t even want me to ingest food unless I’ve been awake for a few hours. I know I should eat before I go and start my day, but I also want to sleep in as late as possible. These two necessities are completely at odds.

However, I have determined that yogurt doesn’t make me as sick as anything else. And sure, I could buy those little containers of strangely flavored yogurt that don’t actually taste like what they’re called (Boston Cream Pie? really?), but I also have control issues.

Hence my new morning ritual. I take some Brown Cow cream top plain yogurt and put it in a bowl. I use my trusty Microplane to add either orange or lemon zest. Add honey or agave nectar to sweeten. Is there any fruit around? Wash it and slice it into that bowl. Stir and eat. Fantastic, wonderful, simple, breakfast that doesn’t make me want to die. Success!

One Response to My new breakfast, by sharon

  1. Connie says:

    My thoughts on yogurt: I like Yoplait, but not the low-fat, and the Key Lime is so good it can be a dessert. You can also stir in some sour cream (regular or lite) into any flavor for a good dip or mix for fruit. I’ve been buying a cantaloupe almost every week and cutting it up with nectarines and red grapes and it keeps in the fridge for about 5 days…real easy to snack on or eat at meal times, with or without yogurt added.

    Congrats on the blog, keep it coming!

Leave a Reply

