Cafe au Lait, by sharon

I don’t always get around to this, but I enjoy it when I do. The weather is a little chillier this morning, a sign of the season to come. The light is different and it makes me want to take a little more time doing things.

My girlfriend has started buying this dark espresso called Cafe Bustelo. It’s cheap and addictive. Baby likes her coffee super dark.

Anyway, this morning I made a huge pot of coffee and decided to actually heat the milk on the stove. Into a small pan went milk, a healthy dash of cream, a spoon of sugar, a dash of vanilla, and half of a cinnamon stick. Heated until bubbles just start to form around the edge and then poured to taste into a cup of coffee.

It’s so good! And it tastes much better than my usual cup. Also, it stays hot longer, which I appreciate. I’m a sipper, not a gulper. That applies to almost any drink, be it coffee or liquor (Molly can attest to this, I always take forever to finish my cocktails).

2 Responses to Cafe au Lait, by sharon

  1. Lisa says:

    I am not a coffee drinker, but will drink flavored Community Coffee if I’m tired. Such was the case this morning, when I remembered you posted a recipe for the cafe au lait. Yum, yum! If I had the time every morning, I think I’d become a coffee drinker!

  2. Sharon says:

    So glad you liked it! I wish I had time to do it more often as well.

Leave a Reply

