Alfredo sauce, by sharon

I’ll admit it, I’ve been a sucker.  I don’t know why, but for years and years I’ve been buying Alfredo sauce in jars.  I’ve been under the impression that Alfredo sauce is difficult to make.  But no more!  I have thrown off the shackles and seen the light.  And the light is made of cream, butter, and cheese.

The other day, I was poking around my kitchen.  I had some leftover cooked pasta, but C had eaten the rest of the meatballs and tomato sauce.  I spied some heavy cream that I bought for another batch of tomato soup, looked over and saw butter, checked the drawer and found a block of Parmesan.  Of course, I had garlic waiting on the counter because I always make sure to have a head of garlic around.

And I figured, today is the day I try this.  I poked around online and found a few basic recipes and they all seemed pretty easy.  Basically, it involved simmering the cream and butter for a few minutes before adding the garlic, cheese, and seasonings.  But decided to add the garlic to the butter and cook it for a bit because I didn’t want too strong of a raw garlic flavor.  The following amounts made enough sauce for a large, entree-sized single serving or a side dish for 2 people.

1/4 cup butter (half a stick)
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 clove garlic, minced
3/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
salt and fresh cracked pepper
parsley

In saucepan, melt butter over medium heat.  Add minced garlic and allow to sauté briefly before adding the cream.  Simmer the cream (do NOT boil) for approximately 5 minutes before adding the cheese and whisking to mix.  Season with salt and pepper.  Toss with pasta and sprinkle with parsley.

And it was THAT EASY.  I will never never never buy Alfredo sauce again. EVER.  I’m sorry to say that C wasn’t home for this creation, and she was awfully mad that she missed out since Alfredo is her favorite way to eat pasta.  And I’m glad I made it the real way at least once—full fat and all.  Now if I try to tweak any ingredients I’ll know how it should taste.

3 Responses to Alfredo sauce, by sharon

  1. Casey says:

    Yeah, the jarred stuff is almost always a mornay. It’s cheaper and probably healthier, but ultimately a poor substitute. I have a hard time shaking the guilt-factor (like tasting the creamed sugar when making cookies), but there are few things in life better than the real stuff.

    In high school, I mistakenly used a Mexican cream on a spicy shrimp Alfredo. I didn’t really know the difference at the time, but I could tell it was a good bit thicker. It turned out to be one the happiest accidents in my culinary career. Mexican cream, if you can find it, is a cultured heavy cream. It’s kinda-sorta like runny sour cream only not sour and with a higher fat content. It gives a nice thickness to the sauce and just a bit of bright acidity to counter the fat. It’s not strictly authentic, but man it was good. To this day, that meal holds a special place in my heart, both literally and figuratively.

  2. Anna says:

    Told you it was easy! People do always think it’s gonna be a tough go but it’s really not. Just diligence.

  3. ranylt says:

    Throw in a dash of freshly grated nutmeg.

Leave a Reply

